Dead Microwave

This morning our microwave broke: the door latch would not let us open the door. Some kind of link seemed to have broken. We have had it about three years and were never satisfied with it. We use our microwave a LOT! And Donna had to have a replacement for Thanksgiving! Lol.

So I went shopping on the internet for a new one that met our specifications: white, larger, not GE, and available! Oh, yeah, as I shopped a new requirement arose: as close to $100 as possible.

I found an Amana I really liked on Amazon but it didn’t qualify for free shipping (even tho it said there was) so the total price would be near $200! Donna vetoed it!

This machine would have lasted longer than we would!

None of the local outlets, included those in Pueblo, stocked anything we wanted (The white color really narrowed the choices down!). I finally found one from Sears, a Kenmore, for $130 with free shipping to the local Sears store. And it will be here for Thanksgiving.

It looks very like our old Galaxy (famous brand there!) but much larger and more powerful.

This has become our unexpected Yule present!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Annie R2P

     /  November 19, 2011

    That looks like a nice one. Mine is a Sharpe and looks similar, but the controls are on the top of the door, which gave it larger interior capacity. One thing that I like is I can put a 13x9x2 pan in there and it has enough room to rotate all the way around without bumping the sides.

    I hope that you like yours. It looks perfect actually. Plus, I like the white too. All of my kitchen appliances are white. At least the microwave, oven, flat cook top, and the two refrigerators. But my toaster is black, the coffee pot and blender are Cuisinart and they are a combo of black and silver.

    I really like how clean the white makes the kitchen look.

    Reply
  2. Charlie

     /  November 19, 2011

    I have never seen one with the controls up there but it is a good idea. Few people have tall things to cook.

    It does make the kitchen brighter; ours is kinda gloomy anyway so white helps. I was stunned to see a RED one on one store’s site!

    I also found a commercial unit with every kind of oven cooking possible for $7000 but Donna said no on that one, too! Lol.

    Reply
  3. Annie R2P

     /  November 19, 2011

    One of my friends has red appliances. Toaster, coffee maker, microwave, tea pot. She loves it. The kitchen is painted white and so the red really ‘pops’.

    Reply
  1. New Microwave « Charlie's Blog

Leave a comment