The Fiber Optic Project: Grooming. Again.

The actual fiberoptic portion of this project was completed in mid-January. Later someone had regraded the ditch along the road to make it deeper and more sharply defined. I assumed it was the county.

But, as I was leaving for town on Presidents Day, I saw two trucks with equipment trailers at the “phone booth”. Like an old fire dog, I HAD to know what was going on!

The ditch the fiberoptic cable was in had been regraded. But I didn’t see it was any smoother driving across it!

I eased in among the trucks and trailers to see whose they were.

LCI and Lowery Contracting are the same outfit and the ones who did the project.

I was impressed with the quality of their equipment: The pickup is a Ford F550, a bear of a vehicle, and the semi tractor is a Kenworth TT02, generally used as a logging tractor. These people do buy good equipment! Now to find the stuff the trailers brought in.

Here is the one the pickup dragged up there: a Bobcat trackhoe. This guy is grooming driveways. And not happy; I assume this was supposed to have been a day off. I guess one of the seven property owners complained about the condition of their driveway. Or Fremont County is just harassing the contractor. Neither operator looked happy so I didn’t stop and ask!

These are grader “signs”. By grading back and forth over the same area, it both smooths and firms the road surface. This is taken just below the “curves”.

And here is the grader turning around. Notice how clean all the equipment is. I guess these two get to clean everything up when they get back to Salida!

I wonder if LCI made any money on this rush job. Maybe this extra work can be billed to CenturyLink. This so reminded me of a certain sewer inspector in Colorado Springs who would keep flunking jobs until he got a bottle of whiskey! Just saying . . .

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

