Another Urologist Appointment: Supplemental

I got a surprise call today from my urologist’s office. Mostly to change my appointment from December 27 to January 4. I don’t understand but it had something to do with insurance and shifting it to next year.

Oh, and incidentally, my PSA was 12.6. And my new drug is to be Firmagon.

I learned more from this phone call than I did from the doctor! Lol.

First the PSA. This is sharply higher but I expected that. PSA tests are notorious for lab variability and I had suspected the doctor’s lab yielded higher results. The 4.48 and 12.6 are results from the doctor’s office; the remainder were done by the Centura Lab Services.

This is higher than I expected. Even if this is 10% high and is really 11.4, it is going up faster than I liked.

Enter my new drug. This is a relatively new drug (2008) and works differently from Lupron. Firmagon is the brand name for Degarelix. This drug suppresses the production of testosterone at the source. So does Lupron but they work differently. Lupron causes “flare up” when it makes the patient’s body go crazy making the stuff until the organs give up and quit. That is why I take Casodex. This drug inhibits uptake by cells of testosterone and I may not be taking it with this new drug. This, BTW, is an expensive drug.

Firmagon works through the pituitary gland instead of directly. The side effects are similar to any lack of male hormones: hot flashes, impotence, low libido, weight gain etc. Much like what I am enjoying with my present drug. Kinda like one of the girls.

The bad news: this drug is given subcutaneously and apparently is oil based like an estrogen shot. I will get a lump (which they call a “depot”) which will dispense the drug for a month. I may get local irritation at the site injection. On my abdomen.

I have hopes this will make a difference in the progress of my parasite.

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. My First Cancer Pain « Charlie's Blog
  2. My Hormones « Charlie's Blog
  3. Another Doctor Appt « Charlie's Blog
  4. My Urologist Visit « Charlie's Blog
  5. My Cancer Update « Charlie's Blog

Leave a Reply

