The Bear

As I was leaving Cañon City yesterday on my way home, the right lane of US50 was blocked by a semi tractor! This is near the maximum security prison so could have other significance than a breakdown. Anyway all the traffic had to merge into the left lane during the afternoon rush!

But as I passed the truck, no one was near it! There were two men, one taking pictures and the other on his cell. I glanced back to see what was up and saw a little black bear which had been drinking from the irrigation canal where it goes under the end of the Hogback (then under the prison grounds).

If I hadn’t been in a such a rush, I may have joined the party and taken some pictures myself!

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Charlie

     /  August 20, 2011

    I looked in the Cañon paper for anything on the bear but it wasn’t mentioned. The was a brief item about a jumper on the Royal Gorge bridge about that time, tho. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

