Dead UPS

The battery UPS for my computer was crippled last week by a power surge created by a lightening strike. Day before yesterday it refused to power up after a storm. I temporarily rigged up a power strip. When I went to town, I bought a UPS at Office Depot. Today during a power outage, I made the trade.

The old one and the new one have near the same capacity, well, near what it did. But the old one weighed 12# on our scales; the new one doesn’t even register! I almost threw it over my head when I picked it up in the store! Wow! There wasn’t that much dust on it! Lol.

They have come a long way. It is still a lead acid unit but they have redesigned the plates. Or something.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

